danaxartists.blogg.se

Ribs lorde meaning
Ribs lorde meaning













average is the quotient obtained by dividing the sum total of a set of figures by the number of figures. Mean and petty satire ignoble suggests a loss or lack of some essential high quality of mind or spirit.Īn ignoble scramble after material possessions abject may imply degradation, debasement, or servility.Ībject poverty sordid is stronger than all of these in stressing physical or spiritual degradation and abjectness.Īverage, mean, median, norm mean something that represents a middle point. mean suggests small-mindedness, ill temper, or cupidity. Very touching.Mean, ignoble, abject, sordid mean being below the normal standards of human decency and dignity. They're both getting older, and drifting apart. She wants it back, the times they had, the thoughts they both thought.

ribs lorde meaning

And therefore, friendship ends, and it hurts, and all you want is those days back. We would laugh at stupid things, our hearts filled.Īnd yet, that will never be enough, for them. Often I felt as if my friend was the only one I had, and the only one I needed, as I'd shared a lot, more than I have with anyone else, with this person.ĭuring summer when we'd have sleepovers we'd share a bed, like little kids. This passage makes me think of how you want your old friend back, the old times and how you used to interact with each other. Recently we've grown apart, on account of many things, but one of them is that they have feelings for me that I do not reciprocate. My InterpretationAside from the lovers part of this song, it reminds me a lot of my best friend and I.

ribs lorde meaning

But I get the feeling she's fallen in love with said friend since childhood, and the friendship "will never be enough". She also remembers probably having sleepovers with them and sharing the bed with them, laughing so hard "our ribs get tough". She sees her best, closest friend at the party, and realizes all these people hear mean nothing to her, and that person is the only friend she needs. She wants her childhood and childhood fantasies back, because now that she's grown up a bit she realized what life is really like and she doesn't want to.

ribs lorde meaning

I want 'em back, I want 'em back, I want 'em" Suddenly, the party doesn't seem as fun as it once did, and she realizes how alone she is, and how scared she is of having adult responsibility. She sees all the people talking about their crazy, teen partying lifestyles and how they make it seem so amazing and how they wish they could live all the time. Her mom and dad are away, and so she takes advantage of it by having a party, but doesn't know how she feels about doing so. My Interpretation"The drink you spilt all over me Kind of like involuntarily falling out of love for a person, and just focusing on the good times they had, and telling yourself it would get better, but knowing it won't since getting older has changed her. In comes the part of convincing herself otherwise. She doesn't feel the same for them like she did before, and she doesn't like she feels that way. But she can only think of how she felt towards them when they were kids (laughing, sharing beds). Yet here, it seems like she's trying to convince herself that the only person she needs is her (possible) significant other. She obviously doesn't want to get old her, and says she's NEVER felt more alone.

ribs lorde meaning

She's realizing that she's not getting any younger, and it's scary to think of all the responsibilities now. General CommentIt seems like she sings with such a longing to feel like she did when she was younger, a kid. I want 'em back, I want 'em back, I want 'em Moved 'round our heads (moved 'round our heads) How all the thoughts (how all the thoughts) We're reeling through the midnight streets















Ribs lorde meaning